In 1925 the first part of the Wallachian Open Air Museum of national cultural heritage was opened in the city park in Rožnov pod Radhoštěm thanks to the Jaroňek brothers, enthusiastic admirers of local folk culture.
The original collection of folk architecture in the Wallachian Museum is constantly being updated and currently includes about 85 objects from Wallachia and northeastern Moravia, including interiors, collections and art objects from these regions.
The area is divided to original parts – the oldest and most visited of which is the Wallachian museum’s wooden town, which presents a way of life in a small town in the middle of the 19th century to the first quarter of the twentieth century.
The Wallachian Village is the largest area, comprising farmhouses and shepherds’ buildings. A mill and blacksmith’s shop are located in a landscape typical of the many villages on the slopes of Beskydy Mountains. The newest area is the Mill Valley, opened in 1982, where visitors can see the water-driven forge hammer, fulling mill, flour mill, saw mill and oil press.
Among the widely attended events held at the museum are the Roznovska festivals and Wallachian fairs and individual parts of the area host different events: blacksmith meetings, fishing days, “Village Christmas”, reviving old farming methods and others. Throughout the year, traditional folklore shows are held in the museum and performed by folk art groups and authentic artists.